Svenska Fysikersamfundet

Fysikersamfundet - Kärnfysiksektionen


SFAIR möte och Svenskt Kärnfysikermöte


This prize was established by IUPAP in 2005 at the time of the General Assembly in Capetown, South Africa.

The purpose of this prize, which consists of 1,000 EUR, a medal, and a certificate citing the recipient's contributions, is:

    To recognize and encourage very promising experimental or theoretical research in nuclear physics, including the advancement of a method, a procedure, a technique, or a device that contributes in a significant way to nuclear physics research. Candidates for the prize must have a maximum of eight years of research experience (excluding career interruptions) following the Ph.D. (or equivalent) degree.

Nominations by one or two nominators (and distinct from the nominee) are open to all experimental and theoretical nuclear physicists. The nomination package should contain, other than the nomination letter, at least two additional letters of support, the curriculum vitae of the nominee containing also the list of publications. Three prizes will ordinarily be awarded at the time of the tri-annual International Nuclear Physics Conference.

Nominations are due December 1, 2015 and are valid only until then. The additional letters supporting the nomination should detail the expected significance of the contributions of the nominee to nuclear physics. To underline this, additional material such as published articles can be added to the nomination package. Especially information that allows the selection committee to evaluate the nominee's contribution to and its direct impact on the field.

Nominations for prizes to be awarded at the next International Nuclear Physics Conference, September 11-16, 2016, in ADELAIDE, Australia, are to be sent by email by December 1, 2015 to the Chair of the IUPAP Commission of Nuclear Physics (C12): Prof. Alinka Lepine-Szily, Institut of Physics, University of Sao Paulo,, subject "IUPAP prize nomination".