Svenska Fysikersamfundet Sektionen för Partikelfysik Board meeting

Minutes No. 1/02 2002-01-23

Connected: Richard Brenner, Paula Eerola, Gabriele Ferretti, Klas Hultqvist, Mark Pearce and Konstantin Zarembo.

Apologies: Leif Lönnblad and Bo Sundborg.

§1

Formalities

The agenda was approved by all present.

Mark and Paula were appointed secretary and *justerare* for the meeting, respectively.

The minutes of the last meeting were approved by those present from the previous board.

§2

Election of deputy chair, secretary and treasurer.

Paula and Mark were elected to the posts of deputy chair and secretary, respectively. Leif had informed Richard that he was willing to continue as treasurer.

§З

Partikeldagarna 2002 in Lund

A local organising committee consisting of Göran Jarlskog (chair), Leif Lönnblad and Hans Bijnes has been formed. Richard will join to form the program committee. Two dates are under consideration: 21-22 March and 11-12 April. Board members were asked to canvas their groups for input to the program and the meeting date. It was agreed that G. Jarlskog should be invited to the next board meeting.

§**4**

Change of bank account names

Leif has pointed out that the names of the board's bank accounts must be changed from 'SFS' according to new SFS rules. 'Partikelfysikerna' was approved as the new name.

§5

A.O.B.

Just before the meeting, Richard forwarded an e-mail from Torsten Åkesson who had passed on a letter from L. Foa, chairman of ECFA. The letter pointed out that R+D for future neutrino factories was being cut in favour of R+D for future accelerators. It was agreed that Richard would speak to Torsten, Barbro Åsman and Gunnar Ingelman (the Swedish ECFA representatives) to gather more information and the matter would be discussed further at the next board meeting.

The practical problem of moving the section's www pages from Stockholm to Uppsala was discussed. Paula suggest that the section should purchase their own domain name. Richard agreed to look into this.

§6 Next meeting.

The time of the next telephone meeting was fixed to Thursday 7th February, starting at 1400.

Minutes compiled by:

Checked by:

Mark Pearce

Paula Eerola